Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

September 10, 2018

My Favorite Recovery Tools for Runners


Disclosure: The products from The Stick, NOW Foods, and Moji were received complimentary to review and share. As always all thoughts and opinions are my own.

It’s been 7 years since I started training for my first ever 5K, and now at the end of the week I will be running my 7th marathon. There’s a lot of miles in there which means a lot of sore muscles. Runners will try everything to get rid of soreness and prevent injury. While I don’t always use them as much as I should, I do have a whole basket full of various foam rollers and recovery devices that I have acquired over the years. If you have heard about foam rolling or maybe even purchased one but don’t know how to use it, I love this article on foam-rolling from Runner’s World showing you how to use a roller for different muscles with videos so you can see exactly what to do. Since we are entering the start of fall racing season, it is a good time to talk about my favorite recovery tools. Don’t be like me, and DO YOUR PREHAB and foam roll often! I have linked these products, but most of these can be found on Amazon or at your local running store.

favorite-runner-recovery-tools-1

1 . The Stick, price varies

the-stick-massager-run-recovery-1

The Stick is a classic massage tool that has been around since 1988. I bought a travel stick years ago and also received a full-size version when I was at the Runner’s World Half & Festival last year. It’s made of a flexible plastic and has a rod with spindles that roll over the muscles to release myofascial and inactivate trigger points. You can read more about how it works here.

the-stick-massager-run-recovery-2

I really like using mine for my constantly tight calves, but it can be used all over the body. It also is waterproof and can be placed in the dishwasher for cleaning/sanitizing which is a cool feature. The only downside of The Stick is that some of the longer versions may be too big to fit into a bag for travel or taking places. I own the fuchsia Sprinter Stick which is a firmer, shorter stick that is great for legs (which is mainly what I use it for!) and retails for $34.95.

2. Moji Foot Massager Pro, $39.95

moji-foot-pro-massager-run-recovery-1
Any photos with my foot looked weird, so this is all you get!
I have been using the Moji Foot Massager Pro since I received a complimentary one from Moji after trying it at the Chicago Marathon expo in 2016. These are also a hot item at Charm City Run, and I have sold many to people after they tried it out in store. Sure you can use a lacrosse or tennis ball to roll your feet, but the Moji Foot Massager Pro is a totally upgraded experience and worth the price. It has high-tech stainless steel balls which you roll your foot over to break up scar tissue and dig into your foot muscles. 

Having all the small spheres really massages your whole entire foot with you controlling the pressure. People suffering from Plantar Fasciitis or foot pain really like this tool! One of my favorite parts is that I keep mine in the freezer for an icy massage, and pop it out every so often to roll my feet over it while I’m sitting at my computer. It feels AMAZING. 

3. R8 from ROLL Recovery, $129.00

r8-roll-recovery-run-recovery-1

The R8 is that thing that looks like a torture device. It is actually a magical recovery tool that gives your muscles a deep tissue massage. I can’t afford a massage every month so this was a good investment. It is expensive (ask for it as a gift, maybe?), but it WORKS. I love deep pressure, but if you are not a fan of that this may take some getting used to. It is TSA-approved (although you might get some questions) and a registered medical device made with stainless steel hardware and soft TPU. Again it can reduce inflammation and really provide myofascial release. I have the older version, but now there is a newer, updated version. 
r8-roll-recovery-run-recovery-2

I place the R8 parallel to my legs and then flip it down so it gets pressure along all sides. You can use it sitting, standing, or laying down.  I like this because I am not rolling around on the floor doing work, rather the R8 is doing all the work, and I am just guiding it along my tight muscles. It hurts so good.

4. NOW® Solutions Joint & Muscle Cream, $14.99 (also available on Amazon!)

now-foods-joint-muscle-cream-run-recovery-1

This is a newer addition to my recovery arsenal. The NOW® Solutions Joint & Muscle Cream was in my goodie bag from my trip to the NOW Foods headquarters in May. It is made for active individuals to use topically around active joints and muscles. The cream is not super thick and contains Glucosamine (found in joint cartilage and used to keep joints healthy as a supplement) along with Boswellia, Capsacin, and natural Methyl Salicylate for skin care. 

My chemistry background comes out now because capsaicin is a chili pepper extract which has pain-relieving properties and makes this cream feel similar to icy hot. That being said, WARNING: do not apply this cream to your legs and then touch your eyes or face. The hot feeling does last a long time also so be warned, but it does make my sore legs feel nice. NOW® Solutions Joint & Muscle Cream is a great affordable and natural product for runners.

5. The Original Worm, $24.00 or $32.00 based on size

the-original-worm-massager-recovery-1

The Original Worm is a portable massager that is a mash up between a foam roller and therapy balls. It’s a neoprene case surrounding 4 rubber balls (and looks like a worm!). This also release trigger points and can give you full-body therapeutic relief. 

While the Original Worm is great for legs and feet as well, I mostly use this for my back pain and neck pain. It’s similar to using lacrosse balls but more stable if I use it against a wall for my shoulders and low back. It also is a great release if I place it under my neck with a yoga block or pillow for my head. The biggest plus to this is that it’s super portable and smaller so it’s great for travel and is what I find throwing into my bag most for a weekend trip.

6. MojiHeat Massage Roller, $69.99

moji-heat-massager-run-recovery-1

Moji makes another appearance on this list with my most recent recovery tool addition of the MojiHeat massage Roller. When Moji reached out about me reviewing this I was excited because of how much I like the Moji Foot Massager Pro, but was skeptical that this would be another unnecessary variation on a roller. This roller is denser, weighing 3 lbs and 13" long, with a textured outside and combines massage therapy with heat therapy. 

moji-heat-massager-run-recovery-2

This roller comes apart into two pieces which then are popped into your microwave for 3 minutes. Once your massage roller is heated you twist it back together into one piece and use like a regular massage roller except you are receiving the therapeutic benefits of heat (which is great for recovery). It's made for larger muscle relief but just half could be used for ease when travelling. When I first used this and took it out of the microwave it didn’t feel very warm, but once I started using it I realized it was heating a little bit more after the microwave and felt AMAZING on my legs. The MojiHeat massage roller will hold heat for up to 30 minutes. Especially in the winter, I see myself reaching for the MojiHeat Massage Roller more often for recovery or even as a way to warm up my muscles before a chilly run!

What is your favorite recovery tool? Do you use a foam roller or massage roller?

This post was linked up with the Weekly Wrap hosted by Hoho Runs and Taking the Long Way Home

August 15, 2018

Copper Mug Cocktails feat. the Dockside Mule Recipe

Disclosure: I was sent 2 mugs complimentary of Moscow Muled in exchange for a review without any other compensation. As always all thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Summertime for me is sunshine, hanging out on someones rooftop deck or patio, my toes in the sand, ice cream on a hot day, sweaty runs, and a cold drink in my hand. Between Moscow Mules and Palomas, I am set for summer. Moscow Mules are the perfect summer drink with refreshing ginger beer and lime juice, and my boyfriend makes them all the time.  I even drink them with a little club soda instead of vodka for a delicious mocktail version. You can even make a hydrating Moscow mule version with Nuun Hydration! The one thing missing from my summer cocktails was a fancy copper mug set. 

That's why I was really excited when Jessica from Moscow Muled reached out about trying out their copper mugs. Besides being a fan a of cocktails, I am a fan of small businesses and especially ones involving ladies! Jessica and her partner couldn't find any high-quality nickel-lined copper mugs that they liked so they made their own as part of a side passion project. 

These beautiful 16 ounce copper mugs  (which retail for $12.50 each) are made of 100% pure high-grade and food-safe copper and are lined with nickel. This provides important health and functional benefits because copper is a heavy metal that can react with acidic fluids (such as citrus juices such as lime juice in a Moscow Mule) and can cause copper to leach into the the drink. This is sometime I never would have thought about when buying my own mugs! The nickel lining not only prevents unintentional copper ingestion, but also increases the strength and durability of the mug because copper is a soft metal than can be damaged with repeated use.



Copper mugs are traditional for mules and similar cocktails in bars which not only look nice but also actually keep drinks cold because the copper transfers for the temperature of the drink to the mug itself. I don't really have time for cleaning, but these mugs are easy to clean by just gently hand-washing and drying right away. Like any copper, these mugs will develop a patina over time, but Moscow Muled also includes directions for keeping their mugs shiny and removing any patina, if that is what you prefer. 


As I mentioned previously, I love a cold Moscow Mule on a summer afternoon or evening. Here is a classic Moscow Mule recipe that came with the copper mugs that I tested out.  It's easy and delicious to make! 

Ultimate Moscow Mule Recipe




Of course I was excited to come up with my own copper mug cocktail. I wanted to keep it refreshing so I decided to make a version of a mule with one of my favorite juices from Gundalow Juice. Their Dockside Sunrise juice is a blend of juices including pineapple, ginger, and even a touch of jalapeno which gives this drink some tartness and a little kick! I also happen to be a fan of Tito's vodka but you can substitute whatever your vodka of choice is. If you do not have any Dockside Sunrise on hand using regular pineapple juice with the ginger beer instead of club soda would be a close match.  

dockside mule recipe



I think I know what my new drink of choice will be as the summer winds down! 



Moscow Muled can be found on Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter @moscowmuled. More information on their copper mugs and ordering information is available on their website

What is your favorite summertime cocktail or mocktail? 

July 31, 2018

Gear Review: Ultimate Direction Race Vesta 4.0


Disclaimer: I purchased this Ultimate Directions vest on my own-this is not a sponsored post. All thoughts and opinions are my own.  

As a running coach and marathoner, I often am asked about hydration belts, bottles, and vests. I trained for and ran my first two marathons with a Fuelbelt hydration belt with 2 small bottles (that I picked up at a Marshalls on sale). I was never a fan of it, but it seemed to be an okay solution to carrying water on the course. My 3rd marathon, I ran with a handheld water bottle. For my 4th through 6th marathons I haven’t carried water on the course, but have relied on the on-course water stations. With big marathons such as Chicago, Philadelphia, and Boston there are so many water stations that it is easy to not carry any hydration gear with me if the weather is not hot.

The problem has been training in Baltimore hot & humid summers for long distance races. I have been using a Flipbelt with a water bottle or this Peak Hydration Nathan pack for training. I tried a Camelbak on a couple runs a few summers ago and did not like all the sloshing as well as cleaning out the bladder. This summer anything on my waist has been really annoying me. That fact, plus toying around with the idea of running a 50K later this Fall, I decided to start looking into purchasing a hydration vest with bottles.

After much deliberation, I decided to bite the bullet and purchase the Ultimate Direction Race Vesta 4.0 which I found on sale for under $80 (it retails for $114.95). This isn't a sponsored post, I am just sharing my thoughts on the vest because I've gotten a some questions about it. I chose it because it has two bottles that sit up front on the chest, it’s lightweight, and it had good reviews. I ran with the Race Vesta for the first time and had not properly watched the videos on how to adjust it so it bounced a lot. Since properly adjusting it, it has minimal bounce and is my new go-to long run gear.  Here’s an overview and my thoughts on the Ultimate Direction Race Vesta 4.0.
gear-review-ultimate-direction-race-vesta-4

Overall

(All information via Ultimate Direction
-Available in two sizes: XS/SM, MD/LG (I bought the XS/SM version)
-Available in two colors: pink or blue
-MSRP: $114.95
-Materials: 4-way stretch woven mesh, 30D coated nylon ripstop, micromono mesh, and 150g flex mono mesh.
-Includes (2) BodyBottles 500s (500 mL soft bottles)
-Volume Capacity: 494.29 in/ 8.1 L
-Weight: With Bottles-9.56 oz. / 271 g ; Without Bottles-6.1 oz. / 173 g

gear-review-ultimate-direction-race-vesta-4_1
According to Ultimate Direction, the women’s Vesta differs from the men’s Vesta in that it has a different configuration for pole attachment, is compatible with a 2L hydration bladder, includes two zippered pockets instead of stash pockets on the bottle pockets.  
This vest is one of the more lightweight hydration vests from Ultimate Direction, with larger vests including the Ultra and Adventure Vestas.

Features

-Sliding Rail Sternum Straps (adjustable!)
-Extensive Front Storage (2 zippered and 2 bottle pockets)
-Trekking pole holders
-Comfort Cinch TM Technology

gear-review-ultimate-direction-race-vesta-4_back

The Good

I love how lightweight the vest is. It doesn’t add a lot of bulk and feels really breathable on the run. The fabric is really stretchy too so the vest fits well to my body and feels like it moves with me. I have never used soft bottles before but like them so far. From the placement of the bottle pockets on the front, I am able to use the bite valve on the bottles to drink easily without removing the bottles from the vest.  The bottles in the bottle pockets sit right above “the girls” and feel comfortable and aren’t right up in my face when I’m running either.
gear-review-ultimate-direction-race-vesta-4_2

I have been using the zippered storage pockets for my gels and fuel as well as my debit card.  I love that the zippers mean everything is nice and secure. The fabric of the vest is stretchy so I can even fit my Samsung Galaxy S9 phone in one of the zippered pockets, but prefer to have it more easily accessible in one of the bottle pockets. I’ve been running with one of the bottles filled with water and Nuun Hydration in one of the bottle pockets along with an extra bottle filled with plain water in the large back compartment that I can switch out. Since I have been using this for running, I cannot speak to the trekking pole holders.

I love that the vest is easily cinched with the shock cords on the top and bottom in the back. On my first run with it, I did not pull the bottom shock cords tight enough and really tighten up the cords in the back to stop most of the bouncing. Once I adjusted it properly, the vest and bottles bounced barely at all.

gear-review-ultimate-direction-race-vesta-4-cinch


The fact that you can move the placement of the sternum straps up and down is awesome. I am 5’4” and bought the XS/SM size based on the sizing chart and did not adjust the sternum straps from their original placement.

gear-review-ultimate-direction-race-vesta-4-straps

The Bad

I love the light pink and blue color options, generally speaking but always worry about gear getting dirty. After a handful of runs, I already have a dirt spot on the front of my vest. Sure, it’s easy enough to just throw the vest in the wash to clean it, but I would appreciate a gray color option as well.

As I mentioned, the pack is really stretchy. I haven’t tried to use a hydration bladder in it yet, but have been putting a filled water bottle, extra gels, or something like a light rain coat in the large back compartment. The large compartment doesn’t have any extra support on the bottom so I’m not sure how heavy it would feel if I loaded up the back compartment for a longer race and am worried it might wear out the fabric quickly due to the sagging strain on it.

gear-review-ultimate-direction-race-vesta-4-back-pocket

One last nit-picky detail is that in the right side bottle pocket there is also an emergency whistle which has its own little pocket. It sometimes comes out of the pocket and bounces around which can be annoying. I wish it was just a bit more securely fastened in the pocket.

Takeaway

I think the Ultimate Direction RaceVesta 4.0  is a great, lightweight option for marathoners or ultra marathoners who want a hands-free way to carry a smaller amount of fuel and gear during training runs or for a race. It’s a great option for ladies like me who need to do some longer runs with just the essentials-phone, fuel, and hydration.

gear-review-ultimate-direction-race-vesta-4-3

Do you use any sort of hydration belt or vest? How do you carry your gear with you on longer runs? 

April 26, 2018

Post- Boston Marathon Recovery Tips

Disclaimer: This post is sponsored by Fizzique through a campaign with Fit Approach. As always all thoughts and opinions are my own. 



I’m still finishing up my big Boston Marathon race recap (so much rain/wind/cold! so many thoughts!) but have really been focusing on my recovery since the race over a week ago. I talked about how my marathon training has been different since my injury , but I’ve also been more conscientious of my recovery as well. With travelling to Boston and an out-of-state wedding right after I haven’t been doing any foam-rolling or exercising. Now that I’m over a week out I’m focusing on getting myself recovered and reverse tapering back into running. I’ve talked on my blog about some broader post-marathon tips, but today I’ll share what I’m focusing on this week specifically for recovery!  

boston-marathon-recovery-tips

REST

I’m still trying to get plenty of actual sleep during the week, especially the couple days post-race. With the weather conditions along with regular hills on the Boston course, I read from some others that they felt they needed more rest after this race than previous ones. It is important to give your body proper time to fully recover, even if you are feeling better a few days after. This article from Runners Connect  talks about the physiological changes in your body after a marathon including how it takes your muscles about 2 weeks post-marathon to return to full strength. 

After the Philadelphia Marathon I really didn’t run except for a couple miles while coaching for 2 weeks and am doing the same after the Boston Marathon, especially because I had some foot pain the last few miles.

July 17, 2017

Be Open with AfterShokz TrekzTitanium Wireless Headphones {Review}

Disclosure: Through my partnership as a SweatPink/FitApproach ambassador, I received a complimentary set of AfterShokz TrekzTitanium wireless headphones from AfterShokz in exchange for my review. As always, all thoughts and opinions are my own. 

I love me some tech-free, music-free runs. However especially as I've had some rough runs lately as I try to rebuild my base mileage or when I've needed to give myself a big pep talk to attempt 3-4 mile runs in this heat and humidity, I've been relying more on my Spotify playlists. I'm also highly annoyed by my headphones staying in my ears and dealing with headphone cords getting stuck to me. I'm a super sweaty person so even the "sweatproof" earbuds" I find myself adjusting and pushing back into my ear throughout a run. I seriously don't know what took me so long to try some wireless headphones. 

I'm super grateful I jumped at the chance to try out the AfterShokz TrekzTitanium bluetooth headphones.  

aftershokz-trektitanium-wireless-bluetooth-headphones-runner

On the website you can choose from 4 color combos with black, and pick what measurements you want. It offers a mini size in addition to the regular, based on the length of the space between your ears. It took me 5 minutes to set-up after charging my headphones with a USB cord, mostly involving connecting the Bluetooth on my phone to the AfterShokz. 

I took them on an inaugural sweaty & humid Baltimore summer run and was pleasantly surprised. 

AfterShokz advertises the TrekzTitanium headphones as IP55 sweat resistant. They also use PremiumPitch+™ technology which gives a great sound with nice bass levels. I haven't let them run out of charge yet, but these are advertised as lasting for 6 hours of continuous music and/or calls on a single charge. Any weird blips in your music are related to your Bluetooth connection, not the headphones. 

May 1, 2017

Adult-ish Things #1: Dry Cleaning {ZIPS Dry Cleaners giveaway}

Disclosure: I have received promotional consideration from ZIPS. As always all thoughts and opinions are my own. 



This week I'm turning 29 which has me thinking a lot about adulthood. It's weird to be turning the age that I will say I am for the next 10 years (haha).  I mean I don't know how I got to be almost 29, when I feel like I just turned 25 (what did happen in years 25-28 besides running a few marathons?!). Alas, in the past few couple of years I've figured out the big secret to life is that no one ever feels like they know what they are doing. No one ever "feels like an adult". I just find myself doing (or trying to figure out) adult things. 

Ya know, like setting up a retirement fund. Doing your taxes.  Attending weddings and bridal/baby showers. Going to get your car's oil changed. Calling the dentist to make an appointment voluntarily. Getting excited about finding sheets on sale at Target. Also getting excited about a Sunday involving going to Home Depot, a crockpot dinner, and laundry. 

One other adult-ish thing is having clothes that actually need to be dry-cleaned. My wardrobe does involve a lot of spandex. Years dressing casual as a researcher in a lab didn't require much professional clothing. Now I have multiple wool sweaters, shirts, and dresses that are supposed to be dry-clean only. And honestly it's been years since I've dropped something off at a dry cleaners.  

Literally this is what my laundry bin consists of: 
my-laundry-basket-snapshot-runner-problems
#runnerproblems #fitgirlproblems

So I was really excited when ZIPS Dry Cleaners reached out to me about checking them out. I had recently seen their new TV spot that launched in March. ZIPS helped me dry clean some dresses I've worn to a couple weddings, a couple winter sweaters, and my bed comforter (which REALLY needed to be cleaned because yikes, I don't think I ever washed it). 

ZIPS started with 8 dry-cleaners in the Baltimore-Washington area in 1996 and now is the largest chain of retai dry cleaners in the Mid-Atlantic. I had no idea it had such local ties.  They provide affordable services for their communities and operate on premise with a "in by 9, out by 5" promise. ZIPS Dry Cleaners even uses 100% biodegradable plastic bags and donates thousands of unclaimed garments annually to charitable organizations. 

I dropped my items off at the new ZIPS Dry Cleaners location in Harbor East right on the corner at 1325 Eastern Ave. There is metered parking right outside which was convenient, but honestly I was literally in and out. 

February 20, 2017

4 Reasons Why I'm Using Collagen Peptides {Vital Proteins Review & Giveaway}

Disclosure: I was 2 complimentary tubs of Vital Proteins for review. The giveaway is fulfilled by Vital Proteins. As always, all thoughts & opinions are my own. 

Like me, you may have read or heard of people (particularly in the paleo crowd) taking gelatin for health benefits such as a drinking bone broth. However, you may be wondering what do gelatin or collagen peptides actually do? Gelatin, like that JELL-O stuff?  

Collagen is the most abundant protein in the body, and collagen peptides have the same amino acids as gelatin, however they are just processed differently.
Collagen peptides are hydrolyzed a.k.a. broken down into smaller amino acid chains so they are more easily digestible (I will forever be a chemistry nerd so I LOVE learning about food science). 

I had heard of Vital Proteins from reading about them on various blogs, and then had the chance to talk to the lovely people at the Vital Proteins booth and snag some samples at Natural Products Expo East 2016. Vital Proteins was nice enough to send me a tub of their collagen peptides and collagen beauty greens to try out. 

vital-proteins-collagen-1

The Collagen Peptides powder in the blue container come from grass-fed, pasture-raised bovine hides so they are not vegetarian. At first I thought it was a little weird that it was powder from cows, but after that initial moment of weirdness now I love how they are a natural and sustainable source of protein.

The green container of Collagen Beauty Greens contains marine collagen peptides along with greens, probiotics and skin healthy helpers like hyaluronic acid, all in a yummy coconut vanilla flavored powder. 

November 3, 2016

SmartyPants Probiotics Review

Disclosure: This post is sponsored by SmartyPants. As always, all thoughts and opinions are my own. 

I’m a lady with some tummy troubles so probiotics have been a staple in my supplementation for a few years now. Probiotics are the good bacteria in your digestive tract that keeps your insides happy and healthy as well as boost your immune system. When SmartyPants approached me about trying their new probiotic gummies of course I said yes because I’m a twenty-something adult who loves gummies. Aka the coolest kind of adult lady. I actually already knew had tried Smarty Pants gummy multivitamins so I knew they would probably be delicious. 

Obviously if you think you have stomach issues, talk to your doctor but if you have an upset stomach or have a non-descriptive IBS diagnoses from a doctor like I have, probiotics might be something nice to try. 

Their new adult probiotic gummies come in two flavors-blueberry and lemon crème (which I tried). Honestly the lemon crème doesn’t tasty lemony, just really fruity and delicious. The probiotic gummies contain seven billion CFU’s per serving (2 gummies) which includes two clinically-proven bacteria strains, IS2 & DE111.  They also have 99% survivability which means the supplement isn’t a waste because it isn’t getting eaten by your stomach acid (a little more science for ya!).

smartypants-vitamins-probiotics-1

SmartyPants probiotic gummies are also vegetarian and non-GMO as well as contain Wellmune® prebiotic immune support which helps out the probiotics and gives your immune system extra support. With flu season starting, now is the perfect time to give your immune system some extra support!

Like I mentioned previously, these are delicious and are also not too chewy or get stuck in your teeth. Remembering to take them in the morning was not an issue-the issue was stopping myself from taking more than 1 serving! They also have a kids probiotic gummies which I received in a grape flavor are just as yummy. 
smartypants-vitamins-probiotics-2

Something really awesome about SmartyPants is that for every bottle sold, they made a one-for-one nutrient grant to Vitamin Angels, which provides a child in need with a year’s supply of vitamin-A supplements. So far over 2 million children have received some life-changing vitamin A!

smartypants-vitamins-probiotics-3

You can find SmartyPants in a store near you or grab the adult probiotic or kids probiotics on Amazon. You know I’m all about that Amazon Prime free 2-day shipping.  I also grab their regular multi-vitamins at Target, because Target is awesome (and deadly). 

Do you take probiotics?  Have you ever tried SmartyPants vitamins? 

October 3, 2016

Running into Fall with Lululemon {gear review}

Disclaimer: Lululemon Baltimore offered me a complimentary outfit for review purposes. As always all thoughts & opinions are my own. 

As much as I love lots of different running gear, there are always some pieces that end up being worn the most. The couple Lululemon tops and tanks I have are an example of that.  I have only splurged on pieces from Lululemon every so often, but have been impressed in the comfort and quality I've found. I've actually worn Lululemon capris or skirts for all of the 4 marathons I've run-no chafing at all!


chicago-marathon-2015
Running the 2015 Chicago Marathon in a Lululemon Cool Racerback tank and PaceSetter Skirt 

I dare you to go try things on in that store and leave the store empty-handed! However I gained a lot of respect for the brand after running Lululemon's Seawheeze Half Marathon this summer and seeing what an amazing event they put on.  


seawheeze-lululemon-half-marathon-finish-2016
post-Seawheeze Half Marathon 2016 in a (tagged) Lululemon Run Swiftly tee and Speedsport shorts

When I was asked to review a couple piece of running gear for my local Lululemon store, of course I jumped at the chance. By the way, the Lululemon in Baltimore, Harbor East is a great store with fabulous employees and local ambassadors, in case you were wondering. 

With the Baltimore Running Festival coming up and the weather still a little bit variable, it was tough to choose what outfit I wanted to review. I run 'hot' (#thesweatylife) and am still loving wearing tanks so I chose out a Run Swiftly tank (MRP $58) in one of the newer colors for Fall, a mixed black/sapphire blue shade . I always think warm colors for Fall but since blue is one of my favorite colors, I love adding this almost midnight blue shade as a Fall favorite. 


lululemon-fall-run-gear-photo4-review

I love the Run Swiftly material because it feels soft, lightweight and comfortable as well as wicks sweat well. 


lululemon-fall-run-gear-photo1

One of my favorite features is that it is prevents you from smelling bad due to the X-STATIC® which inhibits the growth of odor-causing bacteria. The color is a deep blue that is perfect for Fall plus it has that Swiftly tech that I love. 

September 14, 2016

Baltimore Bred: Wild Kombucha {by Mobtown Fermentation}

I'm starting a new little feature I've wanted to start for a while on the blog called Baltimore Bred in which I highlight a local Baltimore brand, company, or product that I love and want to share. First up we have Mobtown Fermentation. 

Baltimore Bred #1: Wild Kombucha by Mobtown Fermentation 

baltimore-bred-1-charm-city-highlights


As a fan of Baltimore small businesses and local brands, I was excited to visit Mobtown Fermentation’s new digs in Lutherville-Timonium just over a month ago. I love supporting local businesses, and it was a great opportunity to learn more about this awesome company and get a behind-the-scenes look at their company. 

wild-kombucha-logo1
{Source}
The three founders of the company, Adam, Sergio, and Sid, had recently moved their brewing operation from Hampden to this new, bigger space in order produce more of their delicious Wild Kombucha.  

Kombucha is a fermented tea beverage made of green tea, distilled water, probiotic cultures (bacteria and yeast) and natural fruit juices or sugars.  I’ve been a huge fan of kombucha for a while because I love that it’s a bubbly and carbonated beverage yet packed with probiotics.  Since kombucha is made with probiotic bacteria like yogurt and is said to have healthy benefits such as aiding in digestion and boosting the immune system-both things I could benefit from. 

Adam and Sergio, who are stepbrothers, were familiar with kombucha and the brew process from their parents’ own kombucha creations growing up. Mobtown Fermentation was started in May 2014 by the three childhood friends after experimenting with brewing their own delicious kombucha. Currently Wild Kombucha is available in three flavors including elderberry, ginger-grapefruit, and mango-peach. I can’t choose a favorite flavor! Their brand of kombucha is a little sweeter and less sour than some brands I’ve tried which makes it more accessible to those wary of trying kombucha. 

wild-kombucha-bottles-mobtown-fermentation